20th HCL International Bridge Championship Concludes

Nov 05, 2023

  • Team AZS BUBOSLAVIA from Poland emerged as the winner of the Team of Four Gold
  • Team Standard Plus from India won the Team of Four Silver
  • Boye Brogeland and Christian Bakke from Norway won the Open Pairs Gold event
  • The pair of Binod Kumar Shaw and Sanjit Dey won the IMP event

New Delhi, 5thNovember 2023: HCL, a leading global conglomerate, announced the winners of its20thInternational Bridge Championship today. Over the course of seven intense days, this championship attracted the participation of more than 800 players hailing from diverse age groups worldwide. They competed for the prize purse of NR 2.6 Crore. Among the participants were the youngest contenders, Adhiyaman Zodypache (11 years old) and Agilan Zodypache (8 years old), two brothers from Puducherry. The winners and runners-up were felicitated by Mrs. Kiran Nadar, an internationally acclaimed Bridge player, and Gold Medal list at the 5th Commonwealth Games and 2018 Asian Games Bridge Medal list.

Mrs. Kiran Nadar, Director HCL Corporation and Chairperson of the organizing committee of HCL International Bridge championship said, “HCL’s journey in organizing Bridge championship began two decades ago with 35 teams, and today, we proudly stand at 145 teams. Over the years, we’ve witnessed a consistent rise in foreign participation. The valuable experience of competing alongside international teams in this tournament will undoubtedly contribute to the honing of Indian players’ skills.”

Boye Brogel and and Christian Bakke from Norway said, “This was our first time at the HCL International Bridge Championship, and we were really impressed with the hospitality, organization and level of play. It is most definitely one of the greatest tournaments in the world. We will be back next year!”

Team AZS BUBOSLAVIA from Poland said, “This is one of the best bridge tournaments that we have participated in so far.”

Winners and Runners-up at the 20th HCL International Bridge Championship are:

Category Winner (Team Details and Prize money) 1st Runner-up (Team Details and Prize money)
Naresh Tandan Trophy for Team of Four Gold AZS BUBOSLAVIA from Poland Formidables from India
Mohini Tandan Trophy for Team of Four Silver Standard Plus from India Shiv Shakti from India
Neena Bonarji Trophy for Open Pairs – Gold event Boye Brogeland and Christian Bakke from Norway Julian Stefanov and Vladmir Mihov
Open Pairs –Silver event Mukund Jagganathan and Gautam Biswas from India R G Bhivandkar and Subash Dhakras
IMP Pairs Binod Kumar Shaw and Sanjit Dey Mithun Mukherjee and Soumya Das


For the first time, the championship provided an opportunity through its one-day ProAm event to the amateur Bridge players to play along with the professionals.  This was a clear example combining expertise and passion.

Note to the Editor:  

About HCL

Founded in 1976 as one of India’s original IT garage start-ups, HCL is a pioneer of modern computing with many firsts to its credit, including the introduction of the 8-bit microprocessor-based computer in 1978 well before its global peers. Today, the HCL enterprise has a presence across varied sectors that include technology, healthcare and talent management solutions and comprises three companies – HCL Infosystems, HCL Technologies and HCL Healthcare. The enterprise generates annual revenues of over US$12.9 billion with over 220,000 employees operating across 56 countries. For further information, visit

For more details, please get in touch with:

Dr. Pooja Arora-